• White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Facebook Icon

Sugar 'Splosion

My Role

Summary of Responsibilities


  • Crafted 11 2-D Platforming levels that progressively scaled in difficulty

  • Introduced the player into the mechanics of the game by designing levels that exemplified how mechanics of the game worked

  • Designed challenging levels that got progressively harder but kept them as frustration-free as possible

  • Created annotated maps and paper concepts to plan out levels early on

  • Blocked out levels early and often to determine level flow and feel

  • Iterated on all levels based on player feedback

  • Adjusted platform placement and mechanics to encourage players to maintain their combo meter in game

Level Designer

As a Level Designer, my main role was to concept out maps and create the levels for the game. I continually worked with my other team members ensuring that the levels were achieving the goals we had set out. Those main goals were to encourage players to alternate their grapple and push off abilities to build combo, create levels that build momentum, and to teach players new level mechanics at a steady pace and increase difficulty at a steady rate.

LEvel Design And Gameplay

Annotated Maps


For many (If not all) of the levels throughout my design process, I created annotated maps to concept out how I was going achieve teaching the mechanics to the player and how I wanted to progressively challenge the player. These even have some old concepts like bombs that our designer was planning on using but ultimately scrapped


Here is a look at some of the maps that I made

Final Levels


Unfortunately, when I was making these levels I didn't take pictures of my grayboxed levels as we moved through the process very quickly. However, all 10 levels were iterated heavily based on player feedback and playtesting.


Here is a look at the final levels in the game and how they played out, each level was meant to be relatively short so the player could overcome a challenging obstacle and then move on. This was so players didn't die at the end of a long level and then have to try and repeat what they already succeeded in.

Level 1:

Level 2:

Level 3:

Level 4:

Level 5:

Level 6:

Level 7:

Level 8:

Level 9:

Level 10:

Level 11: